Medication

Some people refuse to take it & others can’t life without it.

Personally I’ll try anything that will help me feel more ‘normal’ so to speak & get me through my everyday struggles.

When the doctor first prescribed medication I was so ashamed, I was in tears, I couldn’t believe it had come to this. What had I done to become a crazy person?

My Mum was comforting me & she said something that has stayed with me to this day.

She really put it all in prospect for me

“If you had a physical illness & the doctor told you that you needed to take it everyday to stay alive & not be in pain, would you take it?

“Yes of course I would”

“Well just look at it that way, if you have to take a pill every morning to help you feel better then what’s the difference?”

“There really isn’t one. You’re 100% right it’s nothing to be ashamed of”

Now after taking a antidepressant for the last few years I know the difference from when I’m in it & when I’m not.

When I’m not on them I can become an absolute mess. My anxiety is crippling & I’m in constant panic mode. I don’t want to leave the house, I don’t want to see my friends & I don’t really want to do anything at all. I stay within the four walls of my bedroom & shut out the world.

Don’t get me wrong when I am on medication I still have bad days & I still have bad weeks but they are so much easier to deal with. It’s not crippling, I know I will get through it.
When you decide to take medication its really important to listen to your body, if something doesn’t feel right make sure you tell your doctor. There are all sorts of side effects from antidepressants & they are different for everyone so do your research & find out whats best for you.
Just remember to give it time, they don’t work from the moment you start taking them, it can take up to a month for you to feel the full effects BUT don’t give up you will feel better & life will be that much easier to deal with.
The other thing medication can be really helpful with is sleep.

I’m sure we’ve all had those times when you & sleep aren’t getting along at all. You go to bed tired after a busy day but you cant switch off. It horrible. Your mind is racing, your anxiety is high & you cant seem to relax. When you do finally go to sleep its 3am & you need to be up at 7am. Then it becomes this terrible cycle of very little sleep.

Sleep is such an important thing & if you aren’t getting enough then it can make your day to day life even more difficult. Over the counter sleeping tablets can help but sometimes you might need something stronger. The doctor can usually give you something short term to help you get back into a normal pattern so you can get on with things.
What people don’t understand is that when you have CPTSD & PTSD there is a form of brain injury, your wiring has been changed by traumatic events that were out of your control.
My trauma happened when I was a child so when my brain was growing & I was learning how to deal with emotions, I was dealing with things beyond my years so I am effected by things so much more than others.
These people that do things to children don’t realise that they aren’t just doing something to them as a child but they are also effecting their emotion growth which will effect them their entire life.
If you are suffering & you are considering taking something to make life that little bit easier then think about what my Mum said & it might change your mind.
Talk to your doctor & do what’s right for you.

3 thoughts on “Medication

  1. Thank you for this post. I very recently was prescribed antidepressant and anxiety meds for the first time for my CPTSD and have had conflicting and embarrassing feelings about taking meds. It’s nice to know I’m not alone. I am hopeful they will help. Thanks again for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I too had difficulty when I first started taking medication. I felt such shame. Over the years this has changed as I came to understand that PTSD is a physical illness that affects the mind and body. Glad you were able to come to that realization as well. I still wish I didn’t have to take medication but I would not have the life I am worthy of without them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

